Art Gallery - Gallery Deweer, ART Gallery, art gallery, artists exhibit, exhibit graphics, painters, photographers, sculptors, sculptures, sculpture to Otegem

SAVE THE DATE: 'Bye, Bye and Hello - 40 Years Deweer Gallery'

25-09-2019 - 15-12-2019

Deweer Gallery

In 2019, Deweer Gallery will exist 40 years. Over the past four decades, the gallery in Otegem grew to become an established name in the art world. Under the title ‘Bye bye & hello' the gallery wants to look back on the past four decades.
Since its beginnings in 1979, Deweer Gallery has held firm to its philosophy that life is more than just doing business. What began in the seventies as a passion for collecting art, soon developed into a strong urge to share art, which ultimately led to the creation of Deweer Gallery in 1979. The DNA (read: 'Daily Natural Attitude') of Deweer Gallery consists of the early detection, establishment and development of long-term relationships with artists, as well as the provison of support necessary to further their careers.
The gallery was an important pioneer in discovering new artistic talents such as Georg Baselitz, David Hockney, Allen Jones, Anselm Kiefer, A.R. Penck and Thomas Ruff, in introducing - as the first Belgian gallery - the German Neue Wilde and the Italian Transavanguardia, and in putting artists such as Stephan Balkenhol, Jan Fabre, Günther Förg, Kabakov and Panamarenko on the map.

Impressive collection of 1700 works of art
After four decades, Deweer Gallery has built an impressive international collection of 1700 purchasable works of art of different prominent artists such as the previously-mentioned Balkenhol, Baselitz, Fabre, Förg, Kabakov, Panamarenko and Penck, as well as Melissa Gordon, George Little, Enrique Marty, and Nasan Tur, among many others.
To celebrate its 40th anniversary, the collection of Deweer Gallery will be put in the spotlight during a major retrospective exhibition ‘40YDeweer - Bye, Bye and Hello', held this autumn, from 25 September until 15 December, with a festive opening on 22 September. In this way the gallery wants to thank everyone who contributed to this unforgettable story - from collectors to art professionals.
In addition, Deweer Gallery wishes to express a special word of thanks to the artists who have exhibited at Deweer Gallery. This special story would have been impossible without them. Below we list all names, in order of their first exhibition at Deweer Gallery:
Allen Jones, Jaap Schlee, Raymond Waydelich, David Hockney, Alfred Hofkunst, Joseph Willaert, Jacques Lennep, Panamarenko, Arman, Enzo Cucchi, Braco Dimitrijevic, Mimmo Paladino, Georg Baselitz, Antonius Höckelmann, Jörg Immendorf, Anselm Kiefer, Per Kirkeby, Markus Lüpertz, A.R. Penck, Rainer Fetting, Thomas Lange, Johannes Brus, Jan Fabre, Josef Felix Müller, Hans Vandekerckhove, Stephan Balkenhol, Endart, Thomas Virnich, Klaus Jung, Simon Klaus, Domenico Bianchi, Gianni Dessi, Giuseppe Gallo, Franky Deconinck, Albert Hien, Marie-Jo Lafontaine, Bernhard Prinz, H. Oroschakoff, Günther Brus, Jorgen Leijenaar, Aernout Mik, Berend Strik, Tony Cragg, Jiri Georg Dokoupil, Günther Förg, Imi Knoebel, Gerhard Merz, Ilya Emilia Kabakov, Vadim Zakharov, Thomas Ruff, Siegfried Anzinger, Lawrence Carroll, Gerhard Richter, Luc Tuymans, Mark Wallinger, Christoph Fink, Albrecht Schnider, Maquette, Johan Tahon, Koen Vanmechelen, Berlinde De Bruyckere, Matthieu Laurette, Nedko Solakov, Emmanuelle Antille, Wim Delvoye, Stefaan Dheedene, Charlotte Dumas, Andy Wauman, Sergey Bratkov, Enrique Marty, Benjamin Moravec, Michaël Aerts, Cristina Lucas, Boris Mikhailov, Tatjana Gerhard, Jan De Cock, Matthieu Lutz-Kinoy, Anne-Mie Van Kerckhoven, Norbert Witzgall, Keren Cytter, Kasia Fudakowski, Melissa Gordon, Gerda Scheepers, Jorinde Voigt, Alexander Singh, Gabriele Beveridge, Ellison Buck, George Little, Michael Seidner, Shirana Shahbazi, Marc Bauer, Thomas Kratz, Francesco Clemente, Nasan Tur, Anna Vogel, Angela Bulloch, Chiurai Kudzanai, Aida Mahmudova, Luca Monterastelli, Marc Quinn, Stevie Dix and John Kørner.